Best Shopify Returns App: 10 Options Compared (2026)

The best Shopify returns app for stores that want every feature from $19 is QuickReturns. Beyond that, the right app for your store is the one whose plan matches your monthly return volume and the way you refund. This guide compares 10 apps side by side. Every price, free-plan limit and fee comes from the app’s own Shopify App Store listing or pricing page, and you can check each number yourself.
The App Store’s Returns and exchanges category lists more than 250 apps. Below, one table gives a quick look and each app gets a short entry. After that, a second table shows the monthly bill at 50, 200, 300 and 500 returns.
Jump to:
The best Shopify returns apps at a glance
This Shopify returns app comparison shows four numbers for each app: the free plan, the lowest paid plan, the returns it includes and the fee per extra return. Read down a column to find the best Shopify returns app for your volume.
| App | Free plan | Lowest paid plan (per month) | Returns in plan | Fee per extra return |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| QuickReturns | Yes, 10 requests a month | $19 | 60 | $0.40 |
| AfterShip Returns & Exchanges | Yes (Return Care, shopper-funded) | $19 | 20 | $0.50 |
| CWILL Returns & Exchanges | Yes, 6 returns a month | $29 | 50 | $0.45 |
| EcoReturns | Yes, 20 returns a month | $29 | 100 | $0.40 |
| Loop Returns & Exchanges | Yes | From $155 | Not listed | Not listed |
| Redo | Yes (returns portal) | Returns are on the free plan | Not listed | Not listed |
| Return Prime | Yes, 5 requests | $19.99 | 60 | $0.49 |
| ReturnGO | No | $147 | 110 | $1.25 |
| ReturnZap | No | $39 | 50 | Fee not listed |
| Rich Returns | No | $19 | 10 | $1.00 |
Plans change. Confirm on each app’s pricing page before you install. Also, “Not listed” means the vendor does not publish that number on its listing or pricing page. Each entry below gives the free trial where the listing states one.
What a Shopify returns app does that Shopify does not
In your Shopify admin, you can manage returns and exchanges from the Orders page, with an optional return label or a replacement in a different size or color. Once you turn on Shopify’s built-in self-serve returns, customers can also submit a return request from their order status page without contacting you. In addition, Shopify’s return rules set the return window, the return shipping cost, a restocking fee and final sale items. However, Shopify does not deduct return fees from a refund automatically.
The apps on this list add a branded returns portal, exchanges for another product, store credit options and automatic approvals. Our Shopify returns management guide covers the full process.
How we chose and compared the best Shopify returns apps
We picked these ten with two rules. First, the app sits in the App Store’s Returns and exchanges category. Second, its listing shows its plans and prices. We also included Rich Returns and ReturnZap because other comparisons of returns apps cover them, including our own. We left out apps that are not built for Shopify first, and one whose listing shows a single plan with no feature list.
From each listing, plus the vendor’s pricing page where it adds detail, we took the four numbers in the table above and the features each plan lists. We did not score the apps; the tables show the numbers.
10 best returns apps for Shopify, one by one
1. QuickReturns: best Shopify returns app for stores that want every feature from $19
QuickReturns is the best Shopify returns app for stores that want every feature from $19, and 1,000+ brands use it. The free plan covers 10 return or exchange requests a month. Requests then stop until the next cycle or an upgrade. Paid plans start with Growth at $19 a month for 60 requests, then $0.40 per extra request. Boost costs $49 for 300 requests, and Scale costs $99 for 500. See QuickReturns pricing for every plan.
Every feature is on every paid plan, so you only pay for volume. The free plan also includes a branded returns portal with your logo and brand color, on your store’s own subpath. Exchanges are part of the same app, and a shopper can exchange more than one item in a single request. ConvertX is the QuickReturns feature that shows curated products against the item being returned, so the shopper can turn the return into an exchange.

It fits stores that want one price list with no feature tiers. However, exchanges for a different product, automations, team members and API access need a paid plan.
2. AfterShip Returns & Exchanges
AfterShip Returns & Exchanges has a free plan called Return Care. The listing describes it as shopper-funded returns, with return labels handled by AfterShip and a revenue share. The first paid plan, Essentials, costs $19 a month or $192 a year. It includes 20 returns a month, then $0.50 per extra return, with a 7-day free trial. Premium costs $119 a month for 100 returns, then $1 per extra return.
Essentials lists automatic labels, a branded returns page, automatic approval, refunds and exchanges, eligibility rules and return analytics. Premium adds advanced workflows, fraud prevention and a warranty management portal.
It fits stores with a low return count that want automatic labels on the first paid plan. Above 20 returns a month, the $0.50 fee adds up. We also have a Loop Returns vs AfterShip comparison.
3. CWILL Returns & Exchanges
CWILL Returns & Exchanges, formerly ParcelWILL, has a free plan with 6 returns a month. That plan lists a branded return page, return labels and flexible return windows. Essential costs $29 a month, or $276 a year, for 50 returns. Professional costs $99 for 200 returns, and Enterprise costs $299 for 500. On all three, each extra return costs $0.45. Paid plans also come with a 14-day free trial.
Essential lists refund and exchange options, a restocking fee, a return shipping fee, flexible return rules and a multi-language return page. Professional adds exchange upsell, unlimited carrier connection and automation workflows.
It fits stores that sell in several languages and want the same $0.45 fee on every paid plan. However, automation workflows start on the $99 plan.
4. EcoReturns
EcoReturns’ Starter plan is free and lists 20 returns a month, a branded return experience, manual approvals, email notifications and a single language. Smart Automation costs $29 a month for 100 returns, then $0.40 per extra return, with a 7-day free trial. Scale AI costs $99 for 400 returns, then $0.25 per additional return or exchange, with a 14-day trial. Enterprise costs $299 with custom limits.
Smart Automation lists automatic refunds and exchanges, a variant exchange first flow, store credit, partial refunds and multi-language support. Scale AI adds return routing to multiple warehouses, plus APIs and webhooks.
It fits small stores that want a free start, as well as stores near 100 returns a month. Still, automation starts on the $29 plan, and APIs start at $99.
5. Loop Returns & Exchanges
Loop Returns & Exchanges has a free plan and two paid plans. Loop’s site calls the free plan Checkout+ and describes it as free software plus return shipping. It includes domestic return labels for the US and Canada, Return Bars and package protection. Essential starts at $155 a month, with unlimited destinations, automated return policies, carrier rate shopping and workflows. Advanced starts at $340 a month and adds Shop Now, Instant Exchange, Bonus Credit and fraud prevention.
However, Loop does not publish how many returns each plan includes, or a fee per extra return. It also does not state a free trial for its paid plans. Therefore, we could not put Loop in the cost table below.
It fits brands with the budget for a $155 starting price that want workflows and carrier rate shopping on the first paid plan. Our page on Loop Returns competitors compares QuickReturns with Loop on price and plans.
6. Redo
Redo prices returns differently, because returns are on its free plan. That plan lists a returns and claims portal, a customizable return flow and variant-level returns analytics. Redo’s paid plans cover other products. Checkout Optimizer costs $10 a month plus per-order fees. Email and SMS costs $10 a month plus per-send fees. Fulfillment costs $99 a month.
The listing does not state a monthly return limit or a fee per return. The free plan is therefore the only returns price that Redo publishes.
It fits stores that want a free returns portal and may add Redo’s checkout, email or fulfillment products later. Since the listing gives no limit, confirm the terms with Redo before you plan around it.
7. Return Prime
Return Prime’s Start plan is free to install and includes 5 free return requests. After that, each request costs $0.49. Start lists a branded returns portal, variant exchanges and up to 2 logistics or carrier connections. Grow starts at $19.99 a month for 60 requests, then $0.49 per additional request, with a 15-day free trial. It adds auto-approve, refund to store credit and advanced analytics.
Thrive AI costs $79.99 a month for 180 requests, then $0.79 each. Scale costs $149.99 for 450+ requests, then $0.49 each. Scale also lists WMS integration, unlimited users and logistics integrations, plus webhook and API access.
It fits stores near 60 requests a month that want auto-approval for about $20. However, API access and WMS integration sit on the $149.99 plan. For a closer look, read QuickReturns vs Return Prime, side by side. If you plan to switch, our page on QuickReturns as a Return Prime alternative shows the steps.
8. ReturnGO
ReturnGO has no free plan, so every store starts with a 14-day free trial. Premium costs $147 a month and includes 110 returns, then $1.25 per extra return. Pro costs $297 a month and includes 300 returns, then $0.90 per extra return. Above that, Enterprise has custom pricing.
Premium lists variant and product exchange, Shop Now exchanges, return labels, store credit and gift cards, auto approval and 2 languages. Pro adds advanced automation, item validation, ERP integrations, unlimited languages and an API.
It fits stores with more than 100 returns a month that want product exchanges and Shop Now on the entry plan. At lower volumes, the $147 starting price is the second highest on this list, after Loop.
9. ReturnZap
ReturnZap has no free plan. Instead, it offers a 14-day free trial. Pro starts at $39 a month for 50 returns. Advanced starts at $69 a month, also for 50 returns. The listing says a fee applies for additional returns. However, it does not publish the amount.
Pro lists exchanges for any product at any price, store credit plus bonus credit, shipping labels and QR code returns. It also lists “Green returns” with no shipping required. Advanced adds tracking-based automations, helpdesk, 3PL and WMS integrations, API and webhooks, and international return labels.
It fits stores with about 50 returns a month that want any-product exchanges and bonus credit on the first plan. Because the extra fee is not published, ask for it before you grow past 50.
10. Rich Returns
Rich Returns has no free plan, but every plan comes with a 30-day free trial. Standard costs $19 a month for 10 returns, then $1 per extra return. Pro costs $39 for 50 returns, then $0.75 each. Premium costs $99 for 100 returns, then $0.50 each. Enterprise Plus costs $199 for 500+ returns.
Standard lists a branded returns portal, automated prepaid return labels and customer notifications. Variant exchanges and a multi-language portal start on Pro. Auto-refunds and automatic exchanges then start on Premium, and international labels and API access on Enterprise Plus.
It fits stores that want 30 days of testing before they pay. However, 10 included returns for $19 is the smallest paid allowance here, so the per-return fee matters early.
What each Shopify returns app costs at 50 to 500 returns a month
The entry price alone cannot show you the best Shopify returns app on cost. Two other numbers decide your bill: the returns a plan includes and the fee per extra return. This table therefore works out the cheapest listed plan for each app at four volumes.
| App | 50 returns a month | 200 returns a month | 300 returns a month | 500 returns a month |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| QuickReturns | $19 | $49 | $49 | $99 |
| AfterShip Returns & Exchanges | $34 | $109 | $159 | $259 |
| CWILL Returns & Exchanges | $29 | $96.50 | $141.50 | $231.50 |
| EcoReturns | $29 | $69 | $99 | $124 |
| Return Prime | $19.99 | $88.59 | $137.59 | $174.49 |
| ReturnGO | $147 | $259.50 | $297 | $477 |
| Rich Returns | $39 | $149 | $199 | $199 |
Monthly prices in USD, before any annual discount. Each figure is the plan price plus the listed fee for every return above the plan’s allowance. For Return Prime’s Scale plan, we counted 450 requests as included. Plans used:
- QuickReturns: Growth, then Boost at 200 and 300, and Scale at 500
- AfterShip: Essentials at every volume
- CWILL: Essential at every volume
- EcoReturns: Smart Automation, then Scale AI at 300 and 500
- Return Prime: Grow, then Scale at 500
- ReturnGO: Premium, then Pro at 300 and 500
- Rich Returns: Pro, then Premium at 200 and 300, and Enterprise Plus at 500
QuickReturns is the lowest-cost app in this table at 50, 200, 300 and 500 returns a month. At 50 returns a month, six of the seven apps cost under $40. At 500, however, the bill runs from $99 to $477.
Loop, Redo and ReturnZap are missing from this table, because their listings do not state the numbers needed. AfterShip’s free Return Care plan is also left out, since it runs on a revenue share.
QuickReturns is free for your first 10 requests a month.
How to choose the best return app for Shopify
Stores differ, so these three questions narrow the list to the best Shopify returns app for you.
Match the Shopify returns app to your monthly volume
Start with your average return count over the last three months. Then find that volume in the cost table. Under 10 returns a month, look at the free plans first. Between 50 and 200, compare the included returns before you compare the price. Above 500, ask about a custom plan. QuickReturns and ReturnGO each list one with custom pricing, while EcoReturns lists an Enterprise plan with custom limits.
Refunds, exchanges or store credit
Next, decide what you want a return to become. A refund sends the money back, whereas an exchange or store credit keeps the sale. Then check which plan carries the exchange type you need. For example, Rich Returns starts variant exchanges on Pro, while QuickReturns keeps exchanges for a different product on paid plans. Our post on store credit and what to look for in a Shopify store credit app explains when each one works.

Who sets it up
Finally, think about who will run the app. A small team saves time with automatic approvals, so check where they start. AfterShip lists automatic approval on Essentials, Return Prime lists auto-approve on Grow, and ReturnGO lists auto approval on Premium. If you want help at the start, QuickReturns includes an account manager and an onboarding call on its free plan.
Best returns management software for Shopify stores: where Narvar, Happy Returns and Redo fit
QuickReturns is the best returns management software for Shopify stores that want published prices and every feature from $19. Narvar and Happy Returns also appear in wider software lists. The table compares the three on what you can check before a sales call.
| Tool | Best for | Prices and return allowance published | How you start |
|---|---|---|---|
| QuickReturns | Shopify stores of any size | Yes: free for 10 requests a month, $19 for 60, $49 for 300, $99 for 500 | Self-serve install from the Shopify App Store, about 30 minutes |
| Narvar | Delivery dates, tracking and returns from one vendor | No | Demo request on its site |
| Happy Returns | In-person, box-free drop-off | No | Demo request; no Shopify App Store listing |
Narvar is a post-purchase platform where returns and exchanges (its Shield product) sit next to delivery-date, tracking and notification products. Narvar also lists a returns app on the Shopify App Store. However, it publishes no plan prices or return allowances, and its site sends buyers to a demo request. We compare the Narvar alternatives for Shopify stores in a separate guide.
Happy Returns, a UPS company, pairs returns software with nearly 10,000 Return Bar drop-off points in the US. Shoppers return items there with no box or label. Retailers then connect through its portal, a partner app such as Loop or AfterShip, or an API. Its own portal serves enterprise retailers on the Return Bar network, and it publishes no price list.
Redo is entry 6 above: returns sit on its free plan, with no monthly return limit published.
So if you sell on Shopify, you can install QuickReturns today and set up automatic return approvals on paid plans.
Where QuickReturns fits
We think QuickReturns is the best Shopify returns app for one kind of store: the store that wants the whole product on its first paid plan. That leaves one decision, your monthly volume. In the portal, shoppers can also return several items in one request and pick a return reason, and you can require photo or video proof.
To see the product itself, visit QuickReturns for Shopify. You can also read why brands choose QuickReturns.
Best Shopify returns app for apparel brands
QuickReturns is our first pick on this list for apparel brands. When the fit is wrong, a shopper can exchange the item for another size of the same product from the returns portal. A clothing order can hold several pieces, so the portal lets a shopper select every item they want to send back and raise one request for all of them. You can also require a photo or video with the request.
| What an apparel brand needs | What QuickReturns does |
|---|---|
| Size exchanges | A shopper can exchange an item for another size of the same product from the returns portal |
| Exchanges | More than one item can be exchanged in a request, and ConvertX shows curated products against the item being returned |
| Multi-item requests | The shopper selects the items in one request, which gets one AWB and one payout |
| Portal languages | 15, including English, French, Spanish, German and Arabic |
| Free plan | Forever Free: 10 requests a month, with the branded returns portal included |
| Price per extra request | $0.40 on Growth ($19 for 60 requests), $0.30 on Boost ($49 for 300) and $0.20 on Scale ($99 for 500) |
Every feature is included on every paid plan. Install QuickReturns from the Shopify App Store to start on the free plan. For stores that ship mostly within India, our guide to Shopify returns apps in India has its own apparel section.
Best Shopify returns app: questions merchants ask
Choosing and pricing
QuickReturns is the best Shopify returns app for stores that want every feature on the first paid plan. Growth costs $19 a month for 60 requests, and the free plan covers 10 requests a month. To check it against your own volume, compare the free plan, the included returns and the fee per extra return in the tables above.
Yes. QuickReturns has a Forever Free plan with 10 return or exchange requests a month and a branded returns portal. Requests stop at 10 until the next cycle or an upgrade. EcoReturns, CWILL, Return Prime, AfterShip, Loop and Redo also list free plans, each with its own limits, shown in the table above. ReturnGO, ReturnZap and Rich Returns offer a free trial instead.
Entry paid plans on this list run from $19 to $155 a month. However, your bill depends on the returns a plan includes and the fee per extra return. On entry plans, the published fee runs from $0.40 to $1.25. The cost table above shows each app from 50 to 500 returns a month.
In the cost table above, QuickReturns is the lowest-cost app at 50, 200, 300 and 500 returns a month: $19, $49, $49 and $99. Its free plan also covers 10 requests a month.
A Shopify returns app is returns management software you install from the Shopify App Store, usually on a published plan. The wider category also covers post-purchase platforms such as Narvar and drop-off networks such as Happy Returns, which publish no price lists. QuickReturns is a Shopify returns app with a Forever Free plan and paid plans from $19.
Switching apps
Yes. QuickReturns helps you move from another returns app, and a move from Return Prime or Loop Returns has no downtime. Before you switch, note your current return window, fees and refund methods, so you can set the same rules in the new app. Then run a few test returns before you cancel the old plan.
The best Shopify returns app is the one whose plan fits your monthly return volume and the way you refund.
Install QuickReturns from the Shopify App Store and run your first 10 requests free. If you would rather see it first, book a demo.
Sources: AfterShip Returns & Exchanges listing · CWILL Returns & Exchanges listing · EcoReturns listing · Loop listing · Loop pricing · Redo listing · Return Prime listing · ReturnGO listing · ReturnGO pricing · ReturnZap listing · Rich Returns listing · Narvar products · Narvar Return and Exchange listing · Happy Returns press page · Happy Returns Return Bar network. Plans change, so confirm on each app’s pricing page before you install.